Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search

CPHA’s 2019 Annual Conference

CPHA Public Health Awards Breakfast - Awards
Share |

C.-E.A. Winslow Award

The C.-E.A. Winslow Award is presented to a public health professional that has demonstrated leadership and achievement in practice, research and /or education. The award commemorates Charles-Edward Amory Winslow (1877-1957), a pioneer in public health and medicine, who is credited with founding the second oldest school of public health in the country at Yale University. Among the most widely quoted health leaders during his lifetime, Dr. Winslow believed that equal in weight with scientific ideas about health and disease was a commitment to social justice – that social ills must be the first conquest in the "conquest of epidemic disease.”



Ira V. Hiscock Award

The Ira V. Hiscock Award is presented annually to a Connecticut layperson or organization that has made notable contributions to the advancement of public health through public service, education, advocacy and/or leadership. Ira Hiscock was an internationally recognized epidemiologist and a public health professor at Yale University who inspired generations of students.





Charles G. Huntington III Award

The Charles G. Huntington III Award is presented annually to a Connecticut health care practitioner who has demonstrated public health leadership and a commitment to the health and well-being of populations. Charles Huntington was a leader, a role model, a dedicated humanist, a steadfast public health advocate and a caregiver of the first order. He was a leader in the physician assistant profession, a leader of the Connecticut Public Health Association for many years, and at the time of his death, was Associate Dean and Associate Professor at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine.


The Michael J. Perlin Student Award

The Michael J. Perlin Student Award recognizes a current graduate or undergraduate student enrolled in an accredited public health program who demonstrates, through student activities and/or community service, a commitment to leadership, volunteerism, and the highest educational standards. At the time of his passing, Perlin was Professor Emeritus of Public Health at Southern Connecticut State University, where he distinguished himself as a respected educator, colleague and public health advocate. During his 41 years in education-the majority spent at Southern Connecticut State University as a Professor of Public Health-Perlin was known as an energetic and ingenious teacher, who left an indelible mark on countless students. He was the 2009 recipient of the C.E.A. Winslow Award.


The Beth Weinstein Award


CPHA has added the Beth Weinstein award in honor of Beth Weinstein and is honored to make 2019 the first year to award it! 

The Weinstein Award is bestowed on an individual working in, or on behalf of, a local or state government   agency who has demonstrated continued excellence, partnership, promise, or  accomplishment, and/or dedication to the advancement of public health. An individual recognized with this award may work directly in public health or with a cross-sector partnership entity. This award is named in honor of Beth Weinstein, MPH, who served Connecticut with the highest distinction as the CT Department of Public Health (DPH) AIDS Division Director, Preventable Diseases Director, and Family Health Director for many years. As a consummate public health professional, and a model practitioner of civil service, Beth set an example of excellence collaborating     with mutual respect with public policy makers, government agency staff at the local state and federal levels, members of the media, non-governmental organizations, and the general public.

Sign In

Latest News

Follow CTPublicHealth on TwitterLinkedIn

Connecticut Public Health Association © 2019.