Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search

2019 CPHA SCSU Advocacy Training

CPHA Public Health Awards
Share |

2018 CPHA Public Health Awards Breakfast


The Connecticut Public Health Association (CPHA) will be hosting a Public Health Awards Breakfast that will take place on Thursday, April 5th at SCSU in the Adanti Student Center Ballroom during National Public Health Week.

The CPHA Award Winners

C.-E.A. Winslow AwardKaren Spargo MA, MPH, RS

Karen Spargo has had a long and distinguished career.  Armed with a BA is psychology, a MA in Gerontology & Health Care Administration, and an MPH, she has brought focus and passion to both the public and private sectors.  She is a leader and role model for many and has inspired numerous aspiring public health professionals in the classroom.  Perhaps her most notable achievement is leading the Naugatuck Valley Health District (NVHD) for 20 years.  Under Karen’s leadership, the NVHD became the first health district and second public health agency in Connecticut to receive formal accreditation from the national Public Health Accreditation Board in 2015.  Throughout her career, many others have also recognized Karen’s achievements.  She has received a Recognition for Public Health Service award from the Waterbury Health Department (1984) and the Bridgeport Health Department (1993); the President’s Award from the New England Public Health Association (1995); the United We Stand plague from the US Postal Service for support during the 2001 Oxford anthrax case; the Agency of the Year award from the Valley Council for Health & Human Services; Distinguished Services Awards from NVHD (2005 and 2017); and many more.

Ira V. Hiscock AwardAIDS Connecticut (ACT)

AIDS Connecticut (ACT) has been a staunch proponent of progressive HIV prevention and treatment policy in Connecticut.  Founded in 2013 through the merger of AIDS Project Hartford and the CT AIDS Resource Coalition, ACT’s roots stretch back to 1985 when volunteers first came together to respond to the AIDS epidemic.  ACT has an unwavering focus on advocacy and the social determinants of health.  There are few organizations that are as skillful at community organization, and ACT has become a leading force in HIV with over 40 participating member organization around the state.  ACT embodies a harm reduction philosophy and acknowledges the disproportionate impact of poverty, class, social isolation, past trauma, sex-based discrimination, and other social inequalities on health decisions and outcomes.

Charles G. Huntington III AwardAngela Carrano, DNP, MSN, RN

For the past 8 years, Dr. Angela Carrano has worked as a volunteer with the East Shore District Health Department (ESDHD) in her role on the District’s Board of Directors. She has been an integral member of the Board of Directors, serving on several special committees, and her background has allowed her to be involved in many aspects ESDHD’s programming, including emergency preparedness, influenza clinics and the Shoreline Medical Reserve Corps.  Her commitment to improving ESDHD has enhanced their capabilities as public health officials and enables them to better serve their residents.  Moreover, Angela has served as President of the Connecticut Public Health Nurses Association (CAPHN), and is a full-time faculty member at Sacred Heart University where she is committed to community public health nursing.

Michael J. Perlin Student AwardNatalie Moore, MD, MPH Candidate

Dr. Natalie Moore is currently an MPH candidate in the University of Connecticut Master of Public Health Program.  She currently serves as UConn Health’s first International Disaster Emergency Medicine Fellow and went to the U.S. Virgin Islands after Hurricane Irma to treat patients at a temporary triage clinic in St. John before working at a hospital in St. Croix.  Natalie has also designed a quality improvement project around the Malta House of Care in Hartford; volunteered at homeless shelters (Hartford, CT) and the Cornerstone Soup Kitchen (Rockville, CT); and is a volunteer firefighter and an EMT.  During the summers of 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011, she worked at Camp Horizons, a special needs camp, in South Windsor, CT, as an infirmary assistant.  Finally, Natalie received the Firefighter of the Year Award in 2006, and in 2010, Hartford Hospital awarded her the Dedicated to Caring Award.


Register for the breakfast here and support your colleagues.


Awards Breakfast LocationSCSU in the Adanti Student Center Ballroom, located at 345 Fitch St, New Haven, CT 06515

Parking Location: Wintergreen Parking Garage, located at 23 Wintergreen Ave, New Haven, CT 06515

(Please follow the links for a walking map from Wintergreen Parking Garage to the Adanti Student Center)



A Big Thank You to Sacred Heart University for Sponsoring

the 2018 CPHA Awards Breakfast





CPHA respectfully requests that attendees refrain from wearing colognes and perfumes to this event.

Sign In

Latest News

Follow CTPublicHealth on TwitterLinkedIn

Connecticut Public Health Association © 2014.